Stuff and Nonsense

Courage to Change - June 20th

20th June

Fear was a daily part of my experience of alcoholism, and I learned certain ways to cope with it. I often catch myself reacting to my fears in the same way today, even though my circumstances have changed. For example, I often keep quiet when confronted, instead of speaking my mind. This might be a legitimate response, except that I don't consciously make the choice. This is not responding, it's reacting, giving up my self-respect out of fear and out of habit.

My best alternative is to admit that I have a problem, accept my reactions, and turn over to my Higher Power. I've often heard that courage is fear that has said it's prayers. I must recognise my fear, I must say those prayers, and I must have faith as I wait for healing.

In the meantime, there are important ways in which I can help myself. The first step in learning to respond more effectively to others is to learn to respond more effectively to myself. I can learn to respond with love, caring, and respect for myself, even for those parts of me that experience fear, confusion, and anger.

Today's Reminder

Today I'll try to become more aware of alternatives that I haven't yet recognised.

Quote

"... Al-Anon helped me to accept the fact that, although I have no control over other people's reactions or thoughts, I can change the way I react.