Stuff and Nonsense

Courage to Change - 18th June

18th June

By the time we reach Al-Anon, many of us resent others whose lives appear less troubled, envying what we think they have. But in time we discover that each of us is special. I have a unique set of skills, interests, and opportunities. I'm assured that I have everything I need to do what I am here to do today. That doesn't mean I have everything I want, but I can trust that my Higher Power has a better grasp of what's good for me than I do.

To envy someone else because I want what I think they have is a waste of time. We are on different paths. They have what they need, I have what I need. Resentment will only put a wedge between me and another human being.

I am no ones victim. I am where I belong. Envy is nothing more than a hostile form of self-pity. I will not succumb to it today. Instead, I will be grateful for the many gifts, talents and opportunities I have been given. When I appreciate what I have instead of dwelling on what I lack, I feel good about my life. The allows me to be happy for another persons abundance.

Today's Reminder

Another person's bounty reminds me that wonderful things can happen at any time to anybody. I will appreciate the many gifts I have been given.

Quote

"Whatever hour God has blessed you with, take it with grateful hands."